EL Questionnaire 2018


Name: Emily Bulkeley
Company: Elkus Manfredi Architects
Concentration: The last 3 1/2 years I have focused primarily on large scale corporate and commercial interiors. I have had opportunities in a variety of project types including; Office Workspace, Multifamily Residences, Lobby Design, Laboratories, Retail and Higher Education Residences. Past experiences include: television set design and high-end, sustainable, contemporary residential design.
College/University: Endicott College, Beverly, MA. Degree: Bachelor of Science in Interior Design, Concentration in Sustainable Design and Building Systems.
Year(s) of Graduation: 2013

What is your strongest personal quality: Very versatile 
What skill set are you most proud of professionally?: Knowledgeable in all phases of a project design from DD through CA.
What was your first thought when you woke up this morning?: Breakfast!
What is your best childhood memory?: I grew up going to Maine every summer with my family. In the second and third grade I sold lemonade, buoys and handmade crafts so I could buy my own American Girl Doll. I will never forget how proud I felt and how rewarding it was when I bought that doll with my own money. My father taught me a valuable life lesson about appreciating things that are earned by hard work.
What's your go to for de-stressing?: Walking and playing with dogs! I’m a walker for the app Wag in my free time.
Revit, CAD, or Sketchup?: Revit 100%
Are you usually early or late?: Depends on the day.
What three things are in your bag?: Besides the obvious “Keys Wallet Phone”, I always carry my mini Swiss Army Knife, a drink coozi and Burt's Bees Honey Chapstick.
If you could turn any activity into an Olympic sport, what would you have a good chance at winning a medal for?: It’s a toss-up between getting ready in 5 minutes and eating cheese.
Why did you choose to become an Interior Designer?: I’ve always been an artistic person and loved creating fairy houses, doll houses and playing the Sims. But the moment I knew I wanted to be an interior designer was when I was a freshman in High School and was very sick with pneumonia and mono at the same time so I couldn’t attend school for about 3 months. Since I had all this time at home, I began drawing up plans and elevations for remodeling rooms. My dad gave me free reign and I ended up revamping 5 rooms!
What is one goal you'd like to accomplish in your lifetime?: To design and build my own home with my future family; particularity an eclectic mid-century modern home with an Art Deco twist.